Film No. 26: Singin’ in the Rain, Dir: Gene Kelly, Stanley Donen (1952)

Another childhood, Christmas-time favourite – Singin’ in the Rain remains special to me not just because of the memories of watching it as a child, but also because of its status as the only film that keeps me linked to the classic ‘Golden Age of Hollywood’ – an era of films I’ve never really had the patience to dive into (sorry!).

This film is wonderfully camp and catchy throughout every number. How so many people have managed to watch this film and remain straight is a mystery to me. Despite growing up with the film, my seminal memory of it is watching it shortly after I started dating Andy, and putting him through the absurdity of it for the first time.

Do I know what happens in this film? Not really. Do I love it? Of course! Any film that has a 13-minute long ballet sequence (!!) plonked into the middle of it deserves every bit of applause it gets for the sheer audacity of its production.

Favourite bit: “Gotta Dance” – You will spend the first few minutes smiling gently to this number before slowly realising it isn’t ending and wondering what happened to the rest of the film. Just go with it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started